BVL’s BEST Honored at USBC Convention

Fifteen associations took home high honors from the recent USBC Annual Convention in Las Vegas, recognized for their outstanding contributions to BVL — the sport of bowling’s own, oldest and most successful charity.  The awards were based on the total contributions to BVL from the 14-15 season.

“While we appreciate every dollar we receive, we wanted to recognize those local and state associations that really hit it out of the ballpark for BVL,” explains BVL Board Chairman John LaSpina.  “These association leaders have made BVL and our mission to support veterans a high priority.”


Rose Parker and Larry Peppers accept the First Place award for California.

Rose Parker and Larry Peppers accept the First Place award for California.

Michigan State

Sharon and Roger Schildroth Accept Michigan State Award


BVL’s Best Award Winners (l to r): Tennessee (Jinnie Henry);  Texas (Kay Smith); and Virginia (Troy Manuel).

The State of California once again took first place in contributions to BVL, continuing their reign as state leaders for decades, with a total of $119,686.00.  In second place was the State of Michigan, which raised $56,484.53 — vaulting from a $33,000 fourth place last year.  Virginia’s FY 14-15 donation total of $45,960.77 earned that state a third place finish.  Contributions of $38,535.05 brought Texas into fourth place. Tennessee rounded out the top five states with $31,571.18.

In the local association contributions category for 2014-2015, the Nation’s Capital Area USBC came in first place, raising $23,448.37. (Featured photo:  Accepting for NCAUSBC was Tom Dale and  Connie Brown.) This was the Nation’s Capital Area’s second consecutive year in the top spot for local associations.


Pat Klix and John Vorpagel took the Metro Detroit award.

Citrus Belt

Ed Mote and Michael Raddeman accepted for Citrus Belt USBC


Metro Phoenix representatives were Lou Ann Rickett and Di Tormanen.




The Citrus Belt USBC brought in $18,303.10 to help our nation’s veterans, putting them in second place. At the $17,099.81 mark, Metro Detroit USBC received the third place award.  Metro Phoenix USBC raised $15,763.42 during the 14-15 season, earning them fourth place.  Finishing in fifth place was the San Diego USBC with $11,621.82.

A third set of awards was based on the number of USBC members in a local association based on the total amount raised.  “Our ‘per member’ awards, to me, are really something special,” said LaSpina.  “These say it doesn’t matter the size of your organization, it matters the size of your heart.  It’s an illustration of how much our veterans and the BVL cause means to the association.”  The following five associations received awards in this category:

Lakeview Howard City

Merry DeBoer Accepted for Lakeview/Howard City (MI) USBC


Cindy Pate and Susie Brown Accepted for the Alexandria (LA) USBC

  • Lakeview/Howard City USBC WBA (MI) $28.14 per member
  • Alexandria USBC WBA (LA) $25.00 per member
  • Monroe USBC WBA (LA) $12.28 per member
  • Bryan USBC WBA (OH)   $8.20 per member
  • Intra Mountain USBC (GA)   $7.35 per member

At the presentation, LaSpina called on all associations not currently conducting a BVL campaign to do so.  “Last year, we received support from about 250 associations out of the approximately 2500 active associations out there,” said LaSpina. “But there is much more to be done. Please, please, join with us.  Contact our office at and order a free fund raising kit.  Get started today to help us help America’s veterans!”


Monroe (LA) USBC

Monroe (LA) USBC BVL’s BEST Award.  Pictured are (l to r) Susie Brown, BVL Chair John LaSpina, Cindy Pate and Caren Babineaux.

xx accepting Bryan (OH) USBC Award

Bryan (OH) BVL’s BEST Award.  Ruth Heath Trott accepted the award from BVL BOD member Libbi Fletcher.

Intra Mountain

Intra-Mountain (GA) BVL’s BEST Award.  BVL Ambassador Darlene Baker presents award to Mary Ann Compton.

This entry was posted in Slideshow. Bookmark the permalink. Comments are closed, but you can leave a trackback: Trackback URL.